Quick guide to help navigate the new 5-tier system taking effect in Scotland from 2nd November

10/11/2020 Tara Scott

Quick guide to help navigate the new 5-tier system taking effect in Scotland from 2nd November image

New 5-tier system for Scotland - From 2nd November the following will apply;

Update: as of Friday 13th November Perth & Kinross, Fife and Angus will all move into Tier 3.  All other locations will remain the same!
Government review frequency: weekly
All areas at this time; only one household or extended household can stay together at this time
Travel restrictions apply to Level 3 & Level 4

Level 0

No local authority has been assigned this level.

Level 1

Although the Level 1 definition includes six people from two households meeting indoors this would not apply on 2 November. Level 1 sees a "reasonable" degree of normality. Hospitality has a 22:30 curfew. Weddings and life events would be restricted to a maximum of 20 people. Indoor contact sports for adults are not permitted. Only those unable to work from home should go to their place of employment.
  • Highland
  • Moray
  • Western Isles
  • Orkney
  • Shetland

Level 2

In this tier there will be no in-home socialising allowed and up to six people from two households can meet outdoors and in hospitality settings. Licensed premises can only serve alcohol indoors with a main meal - and then only until 20:00. Outdoors, you can be served until 22:30. Most leisure and entertainment premises are closed except gyms, cinemas, bingo halls and amusement arcades.
  • Aberdeenshire
  • Aberdeen
  • Fife
  • the Borders
  • Dumfries & Galloway
  • Argyll & Bute
  • Perth & Kinross
  • Angus

Level 3

Under this new system, Level 3 restrictions see cafes, pubs and restaurants allowed to open until 18:00 to serve food and non-alcoholic drinks. Alcohol sales would not be permitted indoors or outdoors. All leisure and entertainment venues are closed at this level, including cinemas. No non-essential travel is allowed out of a Level 3 area. Indoor exercise, which includes gyms, will be restricted to individual and not group exercise.
  • Inverclyde
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • Renfrewshire  
  • East Renfrewshire
  • City of Glasgow
  • South Ayrshire
  • East Ayrshire
  • North Ayrshire
  • Stirling
  • Falkirk
  • Clackmannanshire
  • The City of Edinburgh
  • Midlothian
  • West Lothian
  • East Lothian
  • Dundee

Level 4

No council has been put into Level 4 restrictions - the toughest to be set.
**Further details on the levels and what it means for each location can be viewed on the Scottish Government’s website at: https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-protection-levels/