+44 (0)1738 506211
ClickBookStay Blog
Home | Our Travel Blog | Quick guide to help navigate the new 5-tier system taking effect in Scotland from 2nd November

Quick guide to help navigate the new 5-tier system taking effect in Scotland from 2nd November

New 5-tier system for Scotland – From 2nd November the following will apply;

Update: as of Friday 13th November Perth & Kinross, Fife and Angus will all move into Tier 3.  All other locations will remain the same!
Government review frequency: weekly
All areas at this time; only one household or extended household can stay together at this time
Travel restrictions apply to Level 3 & Level 4

Level 0

No local authority has been assigned this level.

Level 1

Although the Level 1 definition includes six people from two households meeting indoors this would not apply on 2 November. Level 1 sees a “reasonable” degree of normality. Hospitality has a 22:30 curfew. Weddings and life events would be restricted to a maximum of 20 people. Indoor contact sports for adults are not permitted. Only those unable to work from home should go to their place of employment.

  • Highland
  • Moray
  • Western Isles
  • Orkney
  • Shetland

Level 2

In this tier there will be no in-home socialising allowed and up to six people from two households can meet outdoors and in hospitality settings. Licensed premises can only serve alcohol indoors with a main meal – and then only until 20:00. Outdoors, you can be served until 22:30. Most leisure and entertainment premises are closed except gyms, cinemas, bingo halls and amusement arcades.

  • Aberdeenshire
  • Aberdeen
  • Fife
  • the Borders
  • Dumfries & Galloway
  • Argyll & Bute
  • Perth & Kinross
  • Angus

Level 3

Under this new system, Level 3 restrictions see cafes, pubs and restaurants allowed to open until 18:00 to serve food and non-alcoholic drinks. Alcohol sales would not be permitted indoors or outdoors. All leisure and entertainment venues are closed at this level, including cinemas. No non-essential travel is allowed out of a Level 3 area. Indoor exercise, which includes gyms, will be restricted to individual and not group exercise.

  • Inverclyde
  • East Dunbartonshire
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • Renfrewshire  
  • East Renfrewshire
  • City of Glasgow
  • South Ayrshire
  • East Ayrshire
  • North Ayrshire
  • Stirling
  • Falkirk
  • Clackmannanshire
  • The City of Edinburgh
  • Midlothian
  • West Lothian
  • East Lothian
  • Dundee

Level 4

No council has been put into Level 4 restrictions – the toughest to be set.
**Further details on the levels and what it means for each location can be viewed on the Scottish Government’s website

Back to all news
Take a break

At Click Book Stay our aim is to take away the hassle and allow you the time to simply unwind in your home away from home. With a variety of properties, ranging in style, location and size, to choose from why not get some inspiration by checking out our most popular collections!

View all properties
This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.